Vasari Lonssal's blog

Organizing a new project

It's always difficult to start a project, you have to find the right people to do the work, and you have to work really hard when you're alone. I was lucky to be approached by a friend of mine to start a project, something he had wanted to do for a long time, but needed the right people. When he talked to me about this project and asked for my help, I felt like I was not the right person to do it, I was afraid of disappointing him. I'm a musician, I have experience in organizing small events, but he wanted to do something bigger, an art exhibition with live music from up-and-coming bands on the outskirts of the city. The most difficult part of the project was to find the artists and to take the financial risk of renting a place and promoting it.

There where 5 of us in organizing the event. We tried to save as much money as possible by reusing our old equipment and asked friends for help with transport. I was responsible for the design and the live music. I have quite a bit of experience designing posters and social media images, so it wasn't difficult. I managed to make a decent poster and we distributed it through friends and social media. We worked for several weeks to organize everything, and when the day finally came, it was a success. A lot of people came and the bands and artists had a really good time and lots of opportunities for people to see their work. We raised the money to cover the costs and even managed to pay the bands and artists with what was left over.

To be honest, I didn't expect much. I didn't expect the amount of people that came, obviously we had problems, we ran out of food to sell and we had some technical problems with the music. But other than that it was an amazing experience. I realized how important it is to work with the right people and how important it is to have the responsibility when you have a self-run project. Now we want to organize this event again next year, or maybe even in a few months. Who knows what will happen in the future.

#thoughts